A Dynamic Version Of Events

ImageReleased in February 2012, Emeli Sande’s first solo album: Our Version of Events, spent seven weeks as number one on the  U.K chart and has become the biggest selling debut album of 2012. The New York Times describes her album as “not a flawless album, but rather one with a number of flawless moments”.

Heaven was the first single to be released from the album on August 14th 2011, the second was Daddy, but her first achievement came after Read All About It was released and skyrocketed to number one on the U.K singles chart. The album is made up of songs that were written by her and has been described as “richly melodic, classically powerful, retro-futurist soul-pop”. Her song Next To Me won two Ivor Novello Awards for “best song musically and lyrically”. Emeli describes the lyric and meaning for Next To Me as simple and as her wanting to bring across a type of loyalty and a kind of unconditional love that will always be easy to find in times of uncertainty and confusion. The song is easily relatable, which is probably what made it so extremely popular.

Since then, she has won 2012’s Brits Critics Choice Awards, landed the opportunity to tour with Coldplay and found herself performing at Coca-Cola’s Olympic Torch Relay City of Celebrations. She has done collaborations with Labrith, and Rudimental to name a few and she has also performed at both the opening and closing ceremonies of the 2012 Olympic Games in England. She has written music for Alicia Keys, Rihanna and Leona Lewis and has record deals with EMI and Virgin Records.

Our Version of Events” consists of 14 tracks:

  1. Heaven
  2. My Kind Of Love
  3. Where I Sleep
  4. Mountains
  5. Clown
  6. Daddy
  7. Maybe
  8. Suitcase
  9. Breaking The Law
  10. Next To Me
  11. River
  12. Lifetime
  13. Hope
  14. Read All About It

by: Linden Tak


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s