Chris Brown: A changed man

By IG Ngueyap Tchinami.

Christopher Maurice aka Chris Brown is an American R&B singer, song writer, actor and dancer. He was born on May 5 1989 in Tappahannock, Virginia. He made his debut in late 2005 with the self-titled album Chris Brown at the age of 16. Since then, he has released 5 albums, with the most recent 2012’s ‘Fortune’.

In this 19 track-album, Brown portrays himself as a matured, grown up and more serious person. Following the altercation he had with Rihanna his ex girlfriend; he has been seen as the most violent and heartless artist. Before the release of the album, Brown tweeted on February 29 2012, ‘I hope this album shows growth and positivity to all my fans and will inspire them to the fullest.’

Listening to this album, it is clear that he is a changed person and does not want his past indiscretions to affect his present and even his future. This is most especially noticed in his song ‘Don’t judge me’.

‘Don’t judge me’ was written by Chris Brown alongside Adam Messinger and Nasri Atweh, while The Messengers handled the production. This song was first released as a single on August 14, 2012. Before releasing the video of this song, a journalist catches up with him to know his motives to which Brown responds with, ‘I am doing a service for my country and my planet. If this means saving the people i love and care about, then that’s what I’ll do.’

Contextually, Chris Brown shows his sensitive side in this song as it had been noticed that he is not one after what he did to Rihanna before the 2009 Grammy Awards. And therefore portrays him as a changed man who cannot act as he acted some years back.

Lyrically, Brown asks his lover to forgive him for his past indiscretions and move on with the future and he confirms to his lover that there is nothing between his ex girlfriend and him; this is seen in the first lines of the song lyrics: You hearing rumours about me/And you can’t stomach the thought /Of someone touching my body/When you’re so close to my heart/I won’t deny what they saying/Because most of it is true/But it was all before I fell for you . And he later declares that he is a changed man who can be trusted in the lines: Take me as I am/Not who I was/I promise I’ll be… the one that you can trust.

Therefore, Chris Brown cannot be seen as the violent artist but as a changed and sensitive human being like everyone.

Leave a Reply

