Eminem brings Recovery to Rap-nation

BY WENDY PETERSEN

Marshall Mathers, an American Rap star better known as Eminem brings out roaring life and healing to not only himself but also to a Rap nation through his metaphorical rap genius lyrics.

                         ?So God just help me out while I fight through this grieving process
                          Trying to process this loss is making me nauseous
                          But this depression ain’t taking me hostage
                          I’ve been patiently watching this game, pacing these hallways
                          You had faith in me always
?

These are the lyrics that come out of Eminem?s seventh studio album, Recovery. Lyrics like this made an album debut at number one on the US Billboard 200 Chart. Lyrics like this made an album sell 741,000 copies in its first week in the USA alone. These are the lyrics that grab me. These are the lyrics that make me listen. These are the lyrics that make me think. These are the lyrics that make me feel. Because of lyrics like these, Recovery was the best-selling album of 2010 and sold 6 million copies worldwide. It is these lyrics that have brought about a part of my own recovery.

The album which hosts 16 songs also hosts dark and intense beats which are collabed with even more intense emotion. Perhaps the cussing will make you turn your nose up, but perhaps it will give you power to say that you are going to reach out, take his hand and walk the dark road together, as stated in his hit song, Not Afraid. This is an album made to reach out to a rap nation. This is an album which apologizes for the darkness he has been through and welcomes a new world, a world of hope, a world of Recovery. This is an album that spoke to me and said ?This is dedicated to anyone who?s in a dark place, trying to get out. Keep your head up. It does get better.?

See, in 2006, Eminem lost his best friend. In 2012, I lost mine. In his hit singles, Talking to myself, Going through changes and You?re never over, written by him and produced by various producers such as DJ Khalil, Emile, Just Blaze and Jordan Evans, Eminem hosts Odes to his best friend. This album was a reminder to keep lost ones memories alive. This album was made to release emotion. This album helped me do the same.

On his final song, in his final line, Eminem states to his guardian angel, ?So homie this is your song, I dedicate this to you.? This blogpost is dedicated to my guardian angel and to anyone who finds their strength in the Rap nation. Rest in peace to all our loved ones. And bring on Recovery.



Leave a Reply

