Third Power- New World, New Blood.

Media_httpsmtdailycom_adoou

by: Tapfumaneyi Mugari

DJ. Drama‘s album Third Power, takes an out of the ordinary dimension in the new hip-hop/rap era. For the first time in the DJ’s career the man introduces new uprising artists such as Young Chris, Meek Mill and May Bach Music’s Wale. Oh My featuring Fabulous, Wiz Khalifa and Roscoe Dash is by far the best track on the album as it starts off the album. The remix of Oh My with Trey Songs on the chorus is rather boring as compared to the original sound track. The lyrics feel forced and off key “that booty bumpin’ oh my” I was like, what is this now? *sigh

However, rappers like Jeezy who have been struggling for the past year to find a hit song are back on the charts. My own personal favorite is Rough featuring Jeezy and Freddie Gibbs. For the ladies, youngsters Chris Brown and J. Cole did it again on Undercover, I doubt if there are no girls out there dying for the release of the video. The money accustomed rapper, Gucci Mane finds him-self on the DJs album throwing some crazy punch lines on Me and My Money, “Me and my money go together, we go together wherever the money can take us…” Future’s auto-tune rap Ain’t no way around it contains interesting background and lyrics as he blames his girlfriend for sleeping with his friend, it’s always drama when you listen to DJ Drama.

Third Power is a diversified album with artists from various walks of genres, but the most original song on the album goes to Everything That Glitters featuring French Montana and Pusha T. I promise if this raping my city hook was lame, I would have hated the whole album B.O.B and Crooked I, collaborate on Take My City throwing some sick punch lines, “I take my city everywhere that I go, it’s on my hat, you can tell by the clothes…” The Locked up man, Akon tears the chorus featuring Ya Boy who tells the beat to be quiet while he flows like water on Locked Down.

Third Power is a must listen work of art- though it fails to top up with the 2007/8 Gangster Grillz albums and mix-tapes that featured all the big guns, T.I, Ross, Nelly, Diddy, Lil Wayne etc, Third Power is not to be missed, the best album for 2011 so far.

Leave a Reply

