The xx, dream pop masters

the xx VI

Image supplied by: jamieleto

The xx, a British indie pop trio, prove that you don?t need an actual set of drums to be a real band. Their self-produced debut album xx shows the music industry that a drum machine can function just as well if not better.

The members of the trio consist of Romy Madley Croft on the lead guitar and vocals, Oliver Sim providing vocals as well as playing the bass guitar and finally Jamie Smith supplying the beats with his MPC.

xx was released in August of 2009 and was well-received by critics and went on to be awarded the 2010 Mercury Prize beating fellow nominees including Corinne Bailey Rae, Dizzee Rascal and Mumford & Sons.

Ethereal vocals contrast with simple yet powerful chords in the dream pop masterpiece that is xx. The haunting simplicity of their songs cannot help but stay lodged in your mind and your finger will seem to automatically be guided to the repeat button when listening to this phenomenal debut.

Their sound proved to be so infectious that Shakira covered their single Islands for her latest album Sale el Sol.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s